An enmity with nights

My ordeal begins when the day is over and it’s time to put my rusty, useless brain to sleep because then, all the thoughts I keep trying to suppress all day come rushing back and attack me while I’m defenseless. I can’t help but lie there as my very own mind torments me. No activity to engage myself in- just me and my thoughts. Notions of you. Thoughts that come like tornadoes nearly obliterating me, memories that destroy me like a mighty typhoon destroys a puny straw in its path, while I close my knackered eyes and wait for the goddess of sleep to have mercy on my helplessness and take me into its loving embrace, save me from my mind and my wretched heart. Oh but, the torture does not end here, there’s more I have to endure. There’s you, like a scornful spirit, haunting me. They say evil spirits roam around at night, haunting deserted places and scaring sweet little children. Well, they don’t lie. For you are a wicked spirit that’s haunting this ruination-me. No matter how glittery and gleeful the facade seems in broad daylight, its bound to be haunted at nights, cursed to spend each waking moment in excruciating pain, trying to get rid of its ghost. This ghost is no ordinary ghost, in fact. It, too, is cursed. Cursed to love me so drastically that it can never get away. My ghost and I, we’re both doomed to love each other when there’ naught but night. This is the story of why I am always loggerheads with night.

Leave a Reply

